Conference Leadership Team

The Conference Leadership Team (CLT) was formed by legislative action in June 2011.  This 18 member team, comprised of both Laity and Clergy, is focused on taking actions that contribute to:

  • Making disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world
  • Equipping the local church for effective ministry
  • Maintaining a high level of accountability, transparency and trust
  • Strengthening the connectional nature of our denomination
  • Advancing the four foci of The United Methodist Church
  • Strategically aligning the resources of the Conference

Our stated Conference Vision is:A living connection of disciples of Jesus Christ transforming the world through vital and fruitful congregations.”

Goal for 2013-2016:  “Grow local congregations; increasing by 5% each year, the number of persons following Jesus and improving the depth of the discipleship of all persons.”

Measurements: Achievements toward this goal will be measured by increases in a variety of vital areas.

Our anticipation as a Conference Leadership Team is that:

Ministry areas and local congregations will give attention to:

  • Clear Expectations
  • Achievable Benchmarks
  • Intentional Assessment
  • Accountability, with support
  • Visioning processes that are responsive and Spirit led

The results we are expecting would be seen through improvements in:

  • Passion and urgency
  • Evangelism
  • Discipleship
  • Leadership development
  • Stewardship
  • Our creative balance of a Wesleyan model of personal and social holiness.

The Conference Leadership Team is deeply committed to both continuing the strong pattern of effective ministries in our Conference and taking the necessary steps for change so the West Michigan Conference is strategically moving forward in creative, vital and fruitful areas. The CLT welcomes your prayers and comments.

Mr. Ned Weller

Episcopal Office of the Michigan Area
Bishop Deborah L. Kiesey

Rev. Melanie Carey, Clergy Assistant to the Bishop

Full Cabinet Representatives
Rev. Benton R. Heisler, Director of Connectional Ministries

Rev. Kennetha Bigham-Tsai, Lansing and Heartland District Superintendent

Mr. Mark Doyal, MI Area Director of Communications

Ms. Anne Soles, Lay Leader

Mr. Prospero Tumonong, Conference Treasurer

General Church Connectional Table Representative
Rev. Kennetha J. Bigham-Tsai

Members at Large
Rev. Richard W Blunt

Rev. Bo Rin Cho

Mrs. Sue Cobb

Mr. Daniel Colthorp

Rev. Andrew L. Croel

Pastor Cori Lynn Cypret

Rev. Patricia A. Harpole

Rev. Christopher Lane

Mr. Zachary McNees

Pastor Emily Slavicek